Rabindranath Tagore   Hargobind Khorana

Popularly known as Gurudev, India's most famous writer and poet was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature (1913) in recognition of his work Geetanjali, a collection of poems. Tagore founded the famous Santiniketan in 1901 which later came to be known as Vishwabharati University.

The song, Jana-Gana-Mana, composed originally in Bengali by Rabindranath Tagore, was adopted in its Hindi version by the Constituent Assembly as the National Anthem of India on January 24, 1950. It was first sung on December 27, 1911 at the Calcutta session of the Indian National Congress. The complete song consists of five stanzas.

Founded Santiniketan (1901; Awarded Nobel Prize for Literature, becoming the first Asian to receive it (1913); Knighted (1915); relinquished knighthood after Amritsar Massacre, in protest of British policies (1919).

Enjoy the following lines from Tagore’s Geetanjali :

Where the mind is without fear and the head is held high
Where knowledge is free
Where the world has not been broken up into fragments
By narrow domestic walls
Where words come out from the depth of truth
Where tireless striving stretches its arms towards perfection
Where the clear stream of reason has not lost its way
Into the dreary desert sand of dead habit
Where the mind is led forward by thee
Into ever-widening thought and action
Into that heaven of freedom, my Father, let my country awake

Dr. Khorana was born in Raipur, West Punjab (now in Pakistan), was awarded the Nobel Prize for Medicine in 1968 for his study of the human genetic code and the role it plays in protein synthesis.
Subramanian Chandrashekar
Dr. Subramanian Chandrashekar, the nephew of Nobel Prize Laureate Sir C.V. Raman, was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983. After studying at the Presidency College in Madras, he went to the United Statesof America. He has written many books on Astrophysics and Stellar Dynamics. His theory, the Chandrashekar Limit, on white dwarf stars, which forecasts the limit of mass that dwarf stars explains the final stages of the evolution of stars.
Mother Teresa (1910-1997)
Mother Teresa was born Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu in Skopje, Macedonia, (Albanian descent), on 27 August 27 1910, was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 1979. First joining the Irish Order of the Sisters of Loretto (Dublin) in 1928, Sr. Agnes came to Calcutta in 1929. She founded the Missionaries of Charity and set up the Nirmal Hriday (Sacred Heart), a Center to take care of the dying, the lepers and other people who had been left alone on the streets of Calcutta to die. Today "Nirmal Hriday" has centers all over the world.
Chandrashekar Venkata Raman
Born at Thiruvanaik-kaval in Tamil Nadu, CV was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics (research in the field of optics - light) in 1930. He studied at the Presidency College in Madras and was later Professor of Physics at the Calcutta University. Raman had found that diffused light contained rays of other wavelengths, what is now popularly known as Raman Effect, which explains why the frequency of light passing through a transparent medium changes.
Amartya Sen
Prof. Amartya Sen, one of the most respected economics thinkers in the world, is the first Asian to win the Nobel Prize for Economics in 1998. He was awarded the Prize for his work on economics theory. Some of his most important works is in the areas of poverty, democracy, development and social welfare.


© Kochukunju Joy 2003 (Updated 2013) All Rights Reserved